Page MenuHomeMiraheze

Send a notification when a wiki creator adds a comment on a wiki request
Open, LowPublic

Description

It was brought to my attention that when a wiki creator adds a comment on a wiki request, but does not officially approve or decline the request, a notification is not sent to the original requester. However, as a result of this, it would seem that requesters are not aware if a wiki creator has asked a question (most often to provide more information about the purpose of the wiki to ensure content policy compliance), and as a result such questions often go unanswered, which in turn creates a wiki request backlog.

Currently, the original wiki requester will be notified (I think through the ping notification system on-wiki) if the request is officially approved or declined. I propose that the requester also be notified in a similar manner for a comment on a request that does not officially approve or decline the request. This way, a wiki creator could ask for more information about the wiki's purpose without officially declining the request, and the requester could then expand the description without having to make an entirely new request.

Event Timeline

AmandaCath triaged this task as Low priority.May 11 2020, 15:33
AmandaCath created this task.

I'll note that this would probably qualify as "extremely low" or "bottom of the wishlist" priority, but there is no such priority on Phabricator.

AmandaCath moved this task from Backlog to Features on the CreateWiki board.May 11 2020, 15:34
John added a comment.May 11 2020, 15:47

and the requester could then expand the description without having to make an entirely new request.

Is currently the case even for denied requests. You don’t need make a new request if it’s been declined

@John, yes (Special:RequestWikiEdit) but do most requesters know about that? I would tend to think not, though I could be mistaken.

John added a comment.EditedMay 11 2020, 21:54

@John, yes (Special:RequestWikiEdit) but do most requesters know about that? I would tend to think not, though I could be mistaken.

When they get notified of it being declined, it links there. On the request itself there’s a button that says “Edit this request”