Page MenuHomeMiraheze

Warn users when attempting to remove managewiki right from self
Closed, DeclinedPublic

Description

There have been multiple instances where where users have removed their own managewiki rights one way or another in just the past few weeks and then had to ask the Stewards to restore their rights. As such, I think some sort of warning should be displayed on the Confirm tab of Special:ManageWiki/permissions that will let the user know that, once they submit their changes, they will no longer have access to Special:ManageWiki. I am aware that there are more pressing issues that must be attended to first, and that this is very low priority. But, I figured it cannot hurt to open a task to get other's thoughts and so that it can act as a reminder for later.

Event Timeline

Joritochip created this task.

While I don't think I'll have time to do this myself (for a couple months at least, probably), I will say that this should be done in some way as an error instead.

  • if you are removing the managewiki right from the only group that it is still contained within, error.
  • if you are removing the ManageWiki right from the last group with users in, error.

  • if that is to complex, give a confirmation dialogue to remove it from the bureaucrat group, saying please ensure you are in another group with the managewiki right before proceeding with this action, or similar.

  • ManageWiki should blacklist the entire deletion of the bureaucrat group, in my opinion but that's just an opinion.

While I don't think I'll have time to do this, I will say that this should be done in some way as an error instead.

if you are removing the managewiki right from the only group that it is still contained within, error.
if you are removing the ManageWiki right from the last group with users in, error

I agree that this might be a better approach to solving the issue.

  • ManageWiki should blacklist the entire deletion of the bureaucrat group, in my opinion but that's just an opinion.

Some people like to remove and/or rename the bureaucrat group to suit their own/their wiki's purposes, so I'm not sure the last one is really the best idea, as far as keeping Miraheze wikis as founder-run and customizable as possible. I'm all for the other suggestions, though.

In T7103#140836, Universal_Omega wrote:
  • ManageWiki should blacklist the entire deletion of the bureaucrat group, in my opinion but that's just an opinion.

Some people like to remove and/or rename the bureaucrat group to suit their own/their wiki's purposes, so I'm not sure the last one is really the best idea, as far as keeping Miraheze wikis as founder-run and customizable as possible. I'm all for the other suggestions, though.

I do not think that suggestion was intended to be serious, and if it were it would probably need to be a separate task.

In T7103#140836, Universal_Omega wrote:
  • ManageWiki should blacklist the entire deletion of the bureaucrat group, in my opinion but that's just an opinion.

Some people like to remove and/or rename the bureaucrat group to suit their own/their wiki's purposes, so I'm not sure the last one is really the best idea, as far as keeping Miraheze wikis as founder-run and customizable as possible. I'm all for the other suggestions, though.

I do not think that suggestion was intended to be serious, and if it were it would probably need to be a separate task.

Yeah, it was just a thought. One I since realised was not a great one.

In T7103#140836, Universal_Omega wrote:
  • ManageWiki should blacklist the entire deletion of the bureaucrat group, in my opinion but that's just an opinion.

Some people like to remove and/or rename the bureaucrat group to suit their own/their wiki's purposes, so I'm not sure the last one is really the best idea, as far as keeping Miraheze wikis as founder-run and customizable as possible. I'm all for the other suggestions, though.

I do not think that suggestion was intended to be serious, and if it were it would probably need to be a separate task.

Yeah, it was just a thought. One I since realised was not a great one.

That's fine, I was just mentioning it.

While I get the theory behind wanting to warning users before deleting the bureaucrat group containing the managewiki user right, I think this may be quite complicated to implement a hard warning, particularly when the bureaucrat group is deleted and another successor group, named differently and which contains the managewiki user right, is subsequently deleted. I personally don't think we need to complicate things with a hard warning or anything, but perhaps just a general instructional note could be added in Special:ManageWiki/permissions. While there have been a few recent occurrences, I wouldn't say it's a significant issue, and it's not difficult to re-add the group.

  • ManageWiki should blacklist the entire deletion of the bureaucrat group, in my opinion but that's just an opinion.

Some people like to remove and/or rename the bureaucrat group to suit their own/their wiki's purposes, so I'm not sure the last one is really the best idea, as far as keeping Miraheze wikis as founder-run and customizable as possible. I'm all for the other suggestions, though.

Yeah, 👍 to this. I don't think that is the way to go at all.

While I get the theory behind wanting to warning users before deleting the bureaucrat group containing the managewiki user right, I think this may be quite complicated to implement a hard warning, particularly when the bureaucrat group is deleted and another successor group, named differently and which contains the managewiki user right, is subsequently deleted. I personally don't think we need to complicate things with a hard warning or anything, but perhaps just a general instructional note could be added in Special:ManageWiki/permissions. While there have been a few recent occurrences, I wouldn't say it's a significant issue, and it's not difficult to re-add the group.

I think it's hard but not impossible to implement my ideas mentioned above and quoted below. But maybe it isn't possible.

  • if you are removing the managewiki right from the only group that it is still contained within, error.
  • if you are removing the ManageWiki right from the last group with users in, error.

There is also a way to do this by adding a check if you will still have managewiki access post-submit, basically it can do probably do a check by removing the right from the group in a simulation way, then checking if the actor can still access managewiki, though that does get quite complex.

Universal_Omega claimed this task.

I looked into ways of implementation as I mentioned above. I don't think this is worth the effort at this time. We don't have to deal with this to much right now, and Stewards can always restore it if necessary.